BNP hosts Iftar for foreign diplomats in Dhaka

BNP hosts Iftar for foreign diplomats in Dhaka

English Version

The Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) hosted an iftar program for the diplomats deployed in Bangladesh. Mirza Fakhrul remembers that BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia hosted an Iftar for diplomats during Ramadan every year.

Earlier this week, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir re-emphasized the need to free BNP Chair Khaleda Zia and to re-establish the country’s democratic institutions.

He made the comments while holding an Iftar party for diplomats working in Bangladesh at a city hotel.

High-ranking foreign diplomats from all over the world were there, as well as diplomats from the United Nations and other international groups.

Mirza Fakhrul spoke with the guests before the iftar. On the show, Tarique Rahman, a former BNP vice-president, thanked the international guests for coming.

Mirza Fakhrul stated that BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia used to throw an Iftar for foreign diplomats every year during Ramadan. However, she has been placed under home arrest, “he continued.”

The former prime minister called on everyone to work for Khaleda Zia’s total release from prison and the return of democracy to the nation.

Before the iftar, a munajat was said for peace and prosperity for the country and its people.

At iftar, Palestinian Ambassador Yousef SY Ramadan shared a table with Turkish Ambassador Mustafa Osman Turan, US Ambassador Peter Haas, Swedish Ambassador Alexandra Berg von Linde, and BNP Standing Committee Member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, as well as BNP Standing Committee Member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain.

At the meeting, Ambassador Nathalie Chuard of Switzerland and Ambassador Espen Rikter-Svendsen of Norway were among the other diplomats in attendance, as were others from the European Union, as well as the UNHCR, the UNDP, NDI, and Democracy International. The British High Commissioner, Robert Chatterton Dickson, and the Indian High Commissioner, Vikram Kumar Doraiswami, also took part in the program.

Prof Dilara Choudhury, Prof Mahbub Ullah, Prof Borhan Uddin, Prof Sukomal Barua, and former Bangladesh Bank governor Salehuddin Ahmed are some of the people who are in this group. They are also the editors of the newspapers Manabzamin and Inqilab. They are also members of the BNP Standing Committee, which includes Jamiruddin Sircar, Mirza Abbas, Abdul Moyeen Khan, and Nazrul Islam Khan. Selima Rahman, Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku, vice-chairmen Abdullah Al Noman, Shahjahan Omar, Altaf Hossain Chowdhury, Abdul Awal Mintoo, M Shahjahan, Mir Nasir, Ahmed Azam Khan, Dr. AZM Zahid Hossain, and Netai Roy Chowdhury, among others, were present.